My City is a Garden

Garden inspriation from around the world

Magnolia x brooklynensis ‘Black Beauty’

Stunning near-black, tulip-like flowers, the darkest on any magnolia! Actually, the flowers are a very dark purple with chalk-white interiors that serve to highlight the dark exteriors. A new edition to the garden this spring that has been on my ‘must have’ list for several years.

black beauty interiorBetter yet for the zone 5 garden, flowers appear in late April and through much of May making it less vulnerable to late spring frost.  Finally, M. x brooklynensis, a hybrid of M. acuminata and M. liliiflora is one of the hardiest garden hybrids and easily tolerates temperatures of -20°F without damage.

One comment on “Magnolia x brooklynensis ‘Black Beauty’

  1. karin langeveld
    March 25, 2016

    Dear Mr. Jarsky,

    I am writing you, to inquire about using an image from your website.

    I am working for a printing company in the Netherlands,
    Elburg Smit.

    One of our custumers would like to use an image for printing labels.

    This image is Magnolia × brooklynensis ‘Black Beauty’

    Is it possible to use this image?
    I like to know if you can send me this image in high resolution.

    I hope you can answer my request and I am looking forward to hear from you soon.

    Thank you in advance for your effort.

    Kind regards,

    Karin Langeveld.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2013 by in Plants in my Garden and tagged , , , .

GARDEN FEATURE

Jardin de St-Gabriel-Brécy / Normandy, France

GARDEN FEATURE

Serre de la Madone, Menton, France

GARDEN FEATURE

The Giardini Botanici Hanbury, Mortola, Italy

GARDEN FEATURE

Les Quatre Vents, La Malbaie, Québec